The Punk Vault

Voivod to release live album

Canadian metal pioneers, Voivod, are planning to release a live album this summer. The album, titled Warriors of Ice, will be released June 21 on Sonic Union Metal. The album was recorded in Montreal in 2009 and features all three surviving original members as well as new guitarist Dan “Chewy” Mongrain who has so far done a very good job of filling Piggy’s large shoes since his passing. I saw Voivod play in 2009 and they were nothing short of stellar. Warriors of Ice will also be the first live Voivod album to feature original members Denis ‘Snake’ Belanger and Jean-Yves ‘Blacky’ Theriault.

The track list for Warriors of Ice features a collection of songs worthy of being a greatest hits collection. The songs are as follows:

01. Voivod
02. The Unknown Knows
03. The Prow
04. Ripping Headaches
05. Ravenous Medicine
06. Tribal Convictions
07. Overreaction
08. Panorama
09. Global Warning
10. Treasure Chase
11. Tornado
12. Nothingface
13. Brain Scan
14. Nuclear War
15. Astronomy Domine (Pink Floyd cover)

To add icing on this already sweet cake, Voivod are currently touring Europe and upon their return they are planning another North American tour to support the release of this album. Any time Voivod plays it is a good thing and personally i can’t wait for their return.


Subscribe to The Punk Vault

Enter your email address to subscribe to this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 482 other subscribers